top of page
  • Writer's pictureDM Simpson

And so it starts...


How many of you pluck your eye brows? I have been doing it since I was a teen because I always had very thick eye brows and got teased. On occassions to treat myself I have them waxed when I get my hair done, but for the most part I do it myself.


Today however the reality of losing my sight really hit hard. I sat down in front of my mirror to clean up my brows, the right one went fine, had a few hairs that wanted to fight being plucked. We all have those at times.


But when I attempted to do the left brow I couldn't see to do it. Everything was distorted and blury, even with the glasses on. Everytime I would move my right arm over to try it went blury. I then thought, okay I will try this with my left hand, however that didn't work either. Being stubborn as I am, I kept at it, it certainly isn't perfectly clean but it is better than it was.


It's funny how you realize the little things that you do without even a thought becomes a difficult task. Now, I have known this was coming so my time line wasn't an "if it happens" it is a "when it happens" situation. It is so not an easy thing to accept and anyone who has lost their vision can agree, you go through all the emotions repeatedly everytime something you could do becomes something you can no longer do yourself.


Looks like I now have to add plucking eye brows to my list of things I have to rely on my hair dresser to do for me. She will appreciate that because I will see her more often now. See, silver lining.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page